“In Your Face” and “Being Squirrelly”

08Jan08

081 // January 08, 2008

In Your Face

More still life around the house — this particular cactus plant has survived about two summers, thus being one of the only plant species I can keep alive with my “black thumb”! The curvature it has taken is peculiar turn (haha), and makes for interesting viewing in the kitchen.

Being Squirrelly

Incidentally when I was shooting the above photograph, Mr. Squirrel decided that he would pop out of the trees, hop onto the fence, and look directly through the window at me.

7 Responses to ““In Your Face” and “Being Squirrelly””

  1. Is that the infamous Mr. Squirrel that has a beef with David? 🙂

  2. 2 Momma L

    I saw that squirrel on the news the other day…in his interview he mentioned that he has issues with anyone who likes the Grateful Dead, so perhaps that is the same squirrel that dislikes Dave so much!!

  3. 3 pricklypearbloom

    Loving that cactus!

  4. We used to have a squirrel like that in our yard. I would feed him nuts out of my hand. Then one day I got the bright idea to grab him. Ow, ow, ow.

  5. @wrjones — that’s too funny! Hope you weren’t hurt too bad… remember, they are just rats with bushy tails 🙂

  6. As I grew older I hunted them. That was one of my favorite activities as a boy. Going into the woods with an apple, ham sandwich, Snickers, rifle, and pack of cigarettes (I was 12) so this was an opportunity to smoke as well.

    My mother would make me cut them up before she would cook them. She was a nurse and said the uncut squirrel body reminded her of a premature baby.

    I don’t want to shoot them anymore except with a camera.

  7. Love your list of what you needed to go out in the woods for a day! I could never bring myself to eat one, but glad you ate what you shot.


Leave a Reply

