Absent

19Sep09

568 // September 19, 2009

Absent

My family and I had to say goodbye to a very good family friend this past week. I’ve been traveling and have had a lot of time to think and reflect from knowing this wonderful, great man.

At this time, I would like to think of our lives as a rope; all the individual threads consist of memories, people, places and sometimes things. Most all threads will continue to make the rope strong, while some will eventually fray for various reasons. Those frays will not break the rope if you let it.

This man will continue on throughout MY rope with his simple views on life, generosity and kindness — and to remind me from time to time that, “it is what it is…”

Rest in peace.

4 Responses to “Absent”

  1. 1 Mom B

    nice analogy Miss
    I had a couple of frayed threads this past year, but refused to let it break my rope 🙂

  2. This post reminds me of a family friend of my parents who lived at a lake near Kansas City. We would go out to his house on holidays in the summer and waterski and swim. He was a great guy, and I still miss him after 15 years.

  3. I’m so sorry to hear of the loss of a friend. Your analogy is a nice one 🙂

  4. Thanks everyone. He loved his boat, which is why I chose the photograph and analogy.


Leave a Reply

