Framed Cameras

22Nov09

618 // November 22, 2009

Framed Cine-Kodak Eight Model 20 (1932 - movie camera)

Framed Cine-Kodak Eight Model 20 (1932 – movie camera)

I will apologize in advance, as some (maybe most of my frequent) readers have already seen these photos. Been off my feet for a week now, sick, so I have been running really low on recent photos and the reserve bank.

I’ve seen this idea done before, and most recently here – contrary to what you may think, these (heavy!) cameras are not contained in a shadowbox, but free-hanging from the frame itself.

Framed Kodak Instamatic 804 (1963 - film camera)

Framed Kodak Instamatic 804 (1963 – film camera)

These are the simple black frames you can get at Walgreens. To get this effect, I:

1. Removed the glass from the frame as these cameras needed to stick out further than what it would’ve allowed.

2. Found and cut the scrapbook paper I wanted for each of these to the frame. Taped it to the back of the frame.

3. Since these frames were meant to be hung by the cardboard backing, that wouldn’t be nearly strong enough. Instead, I pounded two small nails to the back of the frame and threaded wire back and forth to reinforce a strong holder for the weight.

4. Measured and strung invisible string through each side of the camera and ultimately hung it from the frame itself – another small nail in the top center in the back of the frame.

Told you this sucker had to hold a lot of weight.

5. Use the brick drill bit and finally hung these suckers.

Hope you enjoy them — I sure do love looking at them in my office!

2 Responses to “Framed Cameras”

  1. That is so cool! I’ll have to share that with my photog. friends. I have that exact same paper, btw! hehehe 🙂 I’m a paper hoarder…

  2. Thanks, Mary!


Leave a Reply

