David White Stereo Realist Camera

22Dec09

638 // December 22, 2009

David White Stereo Realist Camera

By now I really have forgotten when, how and why I discovered this type of camera. But, ever since I did, I was smitten and have been in search of one. More than to collect, but to actually use.

I mean, look at the results they produce! Two almost-identical photographs, when put together just so, will create a 3-D image. To see what I mean, you have to cross your eyes so the two images make a middle image – sort of like the Magic Eye posters (see a quick how-to). Don’t worry if you can’t do it, that is what Stereoscope viewers are for.

David White Stereo Realist Camera

Sure, there are digital photography hacks that you can do in Photoshop – and I’ve tried and failed – but there is certainly nothing better than the real thing, with slide film. This new addition to my collection is a 3.5 lens, with a serial number of A32246 (it was produced between 1950-1951).

It is in working condition, and I intend to pick up some 35mm slide film (perhaps Thursday, when I pick up two rolls of film I recently took with the Holga!).

Can’t wait to show you some results after the new year.

David White Stereo Realist Camera

In addition to the very beautiful camera and case, the seller also included a manual, flash and three unused bulbs… so the camera looks exactly like this when put together.

Thanks again to my friend John Milleker for finding this camera, and taking the time to offer up his advice on this unique type of camera.

5 Responses to “David White Stereo Realist Camera”

  1. 1 Amy M

    I inherited a box of cameras and this was one of them. I am not sure on the working order of it, but would love to try it out. What slide film do you suggest? From looking at your link, I think I am one of the few who cannot relax my eyes to see the 3d image 😦

  2. 2 Amy M

    What would the value of this camera be if it works?

  3. You can buy those Prepaid Processing Mailers For 35mm Slide Film from FUJI. It’s usually sold in packs of 5, I believe. You’s still have to cut the film and mount the slides yourselves. it’s not hard (See my website). And you need a viewer too.
    Value of the most common Stereo Realist (f:3.5) is about $150 (check ebay for prices) but maybe less (because there’s less demand now due to FUJI 3d w3 digital camera).

  4. Zune and iPod:uggs boot uk Most people compare the Zune to the Touch, but after seeing how slim and surprisingly small and light it is, I consider it to be a rather unique hybrid that combines qualities of both the Touch and the Nano. It’s very colorful and lovely OLED screen is slightly smaller than the touch screen, but the player itself feels quite a bit smaller and lighter. It weighs about 2/3 as much, and is noticeably smaller in width and height, while being just a hair thicker.

  5. Hello would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m going
    to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a hard time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!


Leave a Reply

